If you don't, you might get hurt!

I’ve been working hard on the new series (Sizael). I’m happy to say I’ve got a beginning I like and a direction that works. However, one thing I did find myself having difficulty with was introducing a race that is unique (at least in name and culture) to this series’ world. That of the Jateri. Essentially, they are horned humans, and are considered relatives to humans.  I’ve been writing for Sizael since 2008, so the Jateri and the other race I have created for them is nothing new to me, yet writing the first book of a series is proving to be interesting because I’m having to approach these races and other unique elements with the idea of introducing them to the audience for the first time.

 

In the end, the first Jateri was referred to as a, “horned Jateri” until two paragraphs later when my assassin character (the main protagonist) could take a moment to absorb what the Jateri looked like. It’s then that the race is explained in the narrative. It’s interesting returning to a world you started to create years before and writing books for it with the intention of sharing them with others, just due to the challenges that comes with introducing elements specific to your series’ world.

Have you ever had this experience before? How did you deal with it? Share in the comments and you’ll be put into a draw for a special blog interview!

Leave a Reply

